Doggy Daze

Doggy DazeAt the beginning of the year I decided to participate in Craft it Forward through facebook.  Earlier this year I sent off a quilt to one friend and have finished off a second project.  This is actually for my friend’s dog Coco.  She had mentioned a couple of times that she was thinking she wanted a quilt for her dog’s spot on the couch.  I did tell her I would make that for her so she could give me the measurements on how big she needed it and let her pick out the fabric she liked.  She fell in love with Puppy Park from Riley Blake, which was perfect for this quilt and the decor in her living room. Then I kept the actual quilt design a secret.  I love how it turned out.

Doggy Daze

I used Julie Herman’s Hex n’ More ruler to cut out the half hexies and then sewed them together in a semi random pattern to fit the size of the quilt needed.

IMG_1728

For the quilting I decided to put puppy paw prints running across the quilt and then fill in with stippling.  I love the way it turned out.

IMG_1697

She knew that she was getting the quilt, but I had some fabric leftover she I decided to make a couple extras.  First I used the extra half hexies that I had cut out to make a little pillow.

IMG_1732

Then I had some squares left over so I made a very small bag using the tutorial for a lined drawstring bag from In Color Order.  I filled the bag with homemade pumpkin dog treats.

Quilt Stats:

Fabric: Puppy Park by Riley Blake

Backing: Pet Park Paw Prints in Brown by Kaufman

Size: 26″ x 48″ (just perfect for a couch)

Pattern: No pattern, just cut out half hexies with the Hex n’ More ruler.

Linking up to Needle and Thread Thursdays ( If you haven’t checked it out you should, my Simply HST quilt from last week is being featured this week along with some other fantastic projects, yay!). and Finish it up Friday on Crazy Mom Quilts.
My Quilt Infatuation

6 thoughts on “Doggy Daze

  1. I love it! I haven’t seen that fabric before, so cute. It was a nice touch making a pillow and bag of treats too.
    I have the Hex n’ more ruler too. It makes cutting out hexagons (and half hexies) so quick! I love that ruler 🙂

Leave a Reply

