Windows to Hawaii – A Picnic Quilt

Window to Hawaii - Picnic quilt

When on vacation last year in Maui I made sure to make a stop at the Maui Quilt Shop.  I picked up a few fat quarters and fell in love with all the bright colours and happy patterns that reminded me of my vacation and everything I loved about the island.  I had recently picked up Elizabeth Hartman’s A Practicle Guide to Patchwork , and loved the Kitchen Windows pattern.

Windows to Hawaii

After finishing the top a few months ago I has having trouble finding something I liked for the backing.  Lucky for me a friend was headed to Maui this summer and was kind enough to pick up some backing fabric for me.  She did a great job picking out the fabrics and I love how it turned out.

Windows to Hawaii - BackingWe have been in need of a blanket to take with us to the beach or on picnics and this one seemed looked like a great fit.  There was no white which is great as it won’t show grass or anything else that might get on it as easily.  I wanted an easy way to cart the quilt around, so I used the tutorial from Cherry Men Love to make a carry wrap and handle for the quilt.

While away at the beach we had a chance to test out the quilt.  It is the perfect size for two people to lay on and enjoy the sun!  Our towels were then free to use as pillows for afternoon naps, always a bonus.

Windows to Hawaii

Quilt stats:

Sashing: Kona Charcoal and Kona Bahama Blue

Squares and backing: Various prints from fat quarters

Binding: Kona Charcoal

Wrap/Handle: Kona Charcoal with leftover backing material for the underside

Size: 51.5″ x 65″

Linking up to Finish it up Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts and Can I get a Woop Woop at Confessions of a Fabric Addict.  If you have come from either of the groups thanks for checking out my quilt!  I hope you enjoyed it.

5 thoughts on “Windows to Hawaii – A Picnic Quilt

  1. Wow! I love this quilt!!
    A friend recently brought me back a stack of fabrics from Hawaii and I’ve already cut them out. I wonder if I have enough leftover to make another project…
    I do have Elizabeth Harman’s book, and I’ve also made Kitchen Windows. Now I have to run down and check to see if I have enough Hawaiian scraps to make another one.
    Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

Leave a Reply

