New Pillow Finish

Eden Pillow

Finally a finish.  I don’t know why, but it feels like I have been working away and finishing nothing this summer.  This could be due to my tendency to skip around between five or six different projects, but whatever the case it feels great to finally some something finished even if it is small!  There is nothing like getting something off the WIP pile to make you feel like you are accomplishing something.

I had a few squares left over from making my Squares of Eden quilt, and they have been laying around in my sewing room, collecting lint.  I decided to pull them out and make a quick pillow for the guest bed to go with the quilt.  I had a pillow form that was 16″ by 24″ that I had recently picked up when I was making pillows with my cousin (getting her started on the quilting bug early).

Eden Pillow Quilting

As it was a small project I decided to have a little fun with the quilting and try out a few new designs.  I have been wanting to try the swirls for a while after taking the craftsy class by Angela Walters.  I then used the flower boarders from Natalia Bonner’s book A Beginners Guide to Free Motion Quilting.

Eden Pillow close upI am happy with the way the quilting turned out and almost decided to bind it for a mini quilt instead of making a pillow so I could see all the detail on the back.  I did make the pillow and have been enjoying the extra pop of colour.  I am now making plans for more pillows – they are so much fun and come together so quickly.  They are great for a little pick me up project, and a fun place to try out new free motion quilting patterns without it being too overwhelming.

IMG_1659I am linking up to Finish it up Friday on Crazy Mom Quilts.  If you are visiting from there, welcome and thank you for checking out my post!  If you haven’t looked at some of the projects, I highly suggest taking a look.  There is always something great being finished.

3 thoughts on “New Pillow Finish

  1. Your pillow looks wonderful! I love the fmq you did. I haven’t tried a Craftsy class yet, but I have both Natalie and Angela’s books- they are amazing sources of inspiration!

Leave a comment