Bloggers Quilt Festival – Applique Quilt

IMG_1030

I have decided to enter a quilt into this year’s Blogger Quilt Festival this year.  This is a quilt that is a little older, but it is still one of my favorites.  I made this quilt for my Grandparents 50th Wedding Anniversary.  To celebrate their wedding and their life together, I decided to make them a family tree quilt.  Each branch represents one of their children while the grandchildren and great grandchildren are on the leaves coming off their parent’s branches.  Not all the leaves have names (we aren’t quite that fertile!), but represent the generations to come.

The tree is cut from one piece and machine appliqued onto the background.  The leaves and medallions have family members names printed on them (fabric was fused to sheets of steam a seam and ran through an inkjet printer) before being raw edge appliqued onto the quilt.

IMG_1034

For the quilting, I tried to make the trunk and branches of the tree look like bark, and I wanted to outline the leaves to make them standout on the background.  The background of the quilt is done in a tight stipple to help the leaves stand out.  I love how it turned out and you can still see the tree by the quilting on the back!

Family Tree Quilt

I hope you enjoyed my quilt and you check out some others in the festival!

AmysCreativeSide.com
6 thoughts on “Bloggers Quilt Festival – Applique Quilt

Leave a Reply

