Honeycomb

Honeycomb QuiltHappy New Year everyone.  I am going to squeeze in one last quilt for the year.  This quilt has been a work in progress for a long time now, so I am very excited to finally have it finished.  I fell in love with this fabric when I made the quilt for my Mother and was able to get myself a layer cake.  When I saw Hexagon Park on Moda Bake Shop, I knew that it was the perfect pattern for my layer cake.  The hexagons reminded me of a honeycomb, which worked well with the bees and nature theme of the fabric.
Honeycomb quilt
I quilted this with the long arm machine at Sparrow Studioz.  I decided to quilt each hexagon and square with a daisy flower to keep with the whole “nature” theme in the fabrics.  It was my first time doing any free motion quilting on the long arm, so the flowers get a lot neater and more even as I went, but it still looks great.  I wanted to keep the quilt light and soft, so I kept the quilting in the white space to a minimum.

I am happy with the way it all turned out, and now I just have to figure out what I am going to do with it.  It needs a home somewhere, I am just not sure where that will be yet.
Honeycomb quilt
Quilt facts:
Pattern: Hexagon Park by Lily Quilts on Moda Bake Shop
Fabric: Cherish Nature by Deb Strain for Moda
Backing/ Binding: Wide Quilt back (I don’t know the name)

2 thoughts on “Honeycomb

  1. Your honeycomb quilt is beautiful! The pattern and the fabric and shapes all tie together very nicely. Congratulations on finishing it before the new year.

  2. Pingback: Christine’s Technique of the Week: Honeycomb Quilting | CardMaker Blog

Leave a Reply

