Celebrate Dr. Seuss

Celebrate SeussThis quilt took me longer than I thought to get finished when I first agreed to make this.  It is a present for someone who is due next week, and although I started this quilt back in January I am only finishing it now.  Thankfully it is now done and it will be on its way to the mom to be this weekend!

I used a pattern from Julie Herman called Celebrate Dr. Seuss.  I wanted a crib sized quilt so I didn’t add the borders, but I still love how it turned out.

The background is Kona Ash, I love the way it makes the white in the squares pop out and hopefully this won’t hold up a little better for a baby than a white background!  I am always nervous with too much white in a baby quilt – I worry about myself using quilts with too much white.

IMG_1267

For the back I used another Dr. Seuss print with all the different characters on it.  The recipient of the quilt didn’t know if she was having a boy or girl so I tried to keep things fairly neutral.

Due to time constraints I kept the quilting simple with an overall stipple and machine bound the quilt (I also feel like it is nice and sturdy for kids hauling it around).

IMG_1264Quilt Stats:

Pattern: Celebrate Dr. Seuss by Julie Hermann, published in Love of Quilting Nov/Dec 2010

Fabric: Kona solids  and Dr. Seuss Panel

Binding: Dr. Seuss by Robert Kaufman

Quilting: Stipple on my Juki

Size: 50″x40″

The baby is due to arrive on the 7th, hopefully both Mom and little one enjoy this quilt!  Linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday and Finish it up Friday.

2 thoughts on “Celebrate Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

