Finish-A-Long 2013

she can quilt

It is the time of year when the marking is piling up and I am counting the weeks until finals are over – well mostly I am counting the number of assignments until the end of term.  As things get busy I need something to keep me accountable for a few projects.  For these reasons I decided to join up with the last quarter of the 2013 Finish-A-Long.  My list of unfinished projects is really a lot longer than this, but I thought I would try to be reasonable with what I might actually be able to accomplish (along with the blocks for the bees and block swaps that I am currently in).

1.  First up is this cute little quilt (the top is actually complete as of yesterday).  It is made from some Dr. Seuss scraps and solids for a college at work who is due in December.  It needs to be finished before she leaves on maternity leave!

Stars of Suess

2. Mug Rug sets.  I promised a friend I would make some of these for her Aunts for Christmas.  She needs six sets of two before Christmas and so far I have 2 basted, 2 more tops pieced, pieces cut out for 4 more and patters/fabrics pulled for the last sets.  I also have one quilted that is a Christmas present for my brother.

Mug Rugs in Progress

Hexi Mug Rug in progress

3. Textured Baby Quilt.  I have been working on this little baby quilt for a while.  I love the colours and the different textures in the quilt (hence the name).  I have no plans for this quilt other than I wanted to try a project with texture magic.  I am sure someone will have a little girl soon who needs a quilt.

Baby Textures in progress

4. Pods of Seuss.  I first posted this baby quilt months ago.  Since then it has been quilted and the then it sat for another month or two.  I then made the binding and again it has sat for weeks.  I really want to get this quilt into the finished pile for no other reason than it has been patiently waiting its turn long enough.

Bindings in progress

5. Christmas Monkeys.  I love Sock monkeys and made this quilt top back in January after getting my hands of some of this adorable fabric. The top is finished and I have the backing pieced, I just need to find time and space to get it basted. I would love to have it finished to snuggle under for the holidays.

Christmas monkeys in progress

6. Last but not least is a bit of an ambitious project, but I thought I would put it on here so hopefully I get some progress done.  All these little squares are cut out for an Anchors Away quilt designed by Tula Pink.  I know I probably won’t get this quilt finished (it is a queen sized quilt), but it is always good to aim high!

Anchors Away Squares

Well that is my goal, in reality I think I will be happy if I just get the presents finished.

Joining up to the 2013 Finish-A-Long at She Can Quilt.

2 thoughts on “Finish-A-Long 2013

  1. you certainly have a few things on the go here, I have found since I started quilting it is easy to abandon projects whereas when I do embroidery I tend to work on one piece at a time until finished, I am sure you will get the baby quilt done before the birth and also the mug rugs in time for Christmas, I am lucky being elderly I no longer work!

Leave a Reply

